[solved] [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
|
2012-07-01, 14:38
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-01 09:44 by Gelip.)
Post: #1
|
|||
|
|||
[solved] [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
Hello. I compile iPXE for Compex RE100ATX (RTL8139):
Code: make bin/10ec8139.rom The same errors is when booting computer from iPXE CD. If enable DHCP server in router iPXE received IP OK. This is only problem from DHCP working at computer e.g. Tftpd32 Interesting that on other computer with the same ethernet card iPXE working OK and receive IP from DHCP. |
|||
2012-07-03, 10:16
Post: #2
|
|||
|
|||
RE: DHCP timeout (only from Tftpd32)
You might be interested in this thread about debugging the realtek driver: http://forum.ipxe.org/showthread.php?tid=3559
|
|||
2012-07-04, 18:20
(This post was last modified: 2012-07-04 18:21 by Gelip.)
Post: #3
|
|||
|
|||
RE: DHCP timeout (only from Tftpd32)
Is syslog is default added to iPXE or I need remake iPXE like this (line 18 & 21):
Code: 1 #ifndef CONFIG_CONSOLE_H |
|||
2012-07-10, 14:28
Post: #4
|
|||
|
|||
RE: DHCP timeout (only from Tftpd32)
That is not the way to enable syslog support. You need to enable that line (which is just a matter of uncommenting, nothing else), and then you need to specify log-servers in your DHCP server setup, and finally you need to enable remote reception (normally UDP port 514) on your syslog server.
If you can't change your DHCP server config, you can use the iPXE script command "set syslog 1.2.3.4" to enable the feature. |
|||
2013-04-26, 14:07
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-01 10:30 by Gelip.)
Post: #5
|
|||
|
|||
RE: DHCP timeout (only from Tftpd32)
OK, I build CONSOLE_SERIAL. This is log from serial console:
Code: REALTEK 0xb80a0 appears to be an RTL8139 Code: PRESS A KEY REBOOT Code: Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:00:48:1C:CD:59 [26/04 16:16:54.109]
This is the configuration of the computer that not working DHCP iPXE: CPU Type Intel Celeron-S, 1200 MHz (12 x 100) Motherboard Name PCPartner 815EBAS3/815EBMS3/815EMS3/815EPBAS3/815EPBMS3 Motherboard Chipset Intel Solano i815EP System Memory 512 MB (SDRAM) DIMM1: RM56S281TA-13AC 256 MB PC133 SDRAM (3.0-3-3-6 @ 133 MHz) DIMM2: LG GMM26416233ENTG-7J 128 MB PC100 SDRAM (3.0-2-2-5 @ 100 MHz) (2.0-2-2-4 @ 66 MHz) DIMM3: 128 MB PC133 SDRAM (3.0-3-3-6 @ 133 MHz) BIOS Type Award Modular (09/24/01) Communication Port Port komunikacyjny (COM1) Communication Port Port komunikacyjny (COM2) Communication Port Port drukarki (LPT1) |
|||
2013-04-26, 17:45
Post: #6
|
|||
|
|||
RE: DHCP timeout (only from Tftpd32)
You need to specify the syslog server in your DHCP server for iPXE to use it. If you don't want to do that, you need to create an embedded script that set the value statically.
|
|||
2013-04-27, 07:08
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-27 07:54 by Gelip.)
Post: #7
|
|||
|
|||
RE: DHCP timeout (only from Tftpd32)
to robinsmidsrod: Syslog, syslog, syslog
Syslog will not help because the DHCP client does not work and there is no network configuration in iPXE!! so syslog not working !!! In DEBUG messages mostly error: REALTEK 0xb80a0 RX offset 164+0 error 0000 RX - receive data, TX - transmit data Only is problem with RX - receive data I built a minimal image and error is also: Code: CONSOLE_PCBIOS |
|||
2013-04-27, 07:56
Post: #8
|
|||
|
|||
RE: DHCP timeout (only from Tftpd32)
(2013-04-27 07:08)Maniek Wrote: to robinsmidsrod: Syslog, syslog, syslog Serial Console syslog to a second machine will however... "Thus far, you have been adrift within the sheltered harbor of my patience..." |
|||
2013-04-27, 08:07
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-01 10:40 by Gelip.)
Post: #9
|
|||
|
|||
RE: DHCP timeout (only from Tftpd32)
This is other log from TFTPD32:
Code: Connection received from 192.168.xxx.xxx on port 1027 [27/04 10:24:26.312] IP Tools 1.98.2.0 By Ervan L. - DHCP connection timed out Home router DHCP - DHCP connection timed out gPXE 1.0.1 working OK only iPXE have problems :-( :-(. Specially built gPXE 1.0.1 realtek DEBUG to show that it works: Not working iPXE 1.0.0+ (d91cc) DEBUG SERIAL: This is probably error in new drivers iPXE realtek.c. I think so old code gPXE is better for realtek card. |
|||
2013-04-29, 17:21
Post: #10
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
I would suggest you build with DEBUG=realtek:3 and put tcpdump -s 0 -w dump.pcap running on your DHCP server. That should allow you to open up the file in wireshark later and see what kind of traffic is being seen from the perspective of the DHCP server together with the debug output (which you probably capture via serial console). If possible, putting a cross-over cable between the ipxe client and DHCP server is probably a good way to minimize where the problem might be.
You have most likely found a bug in the new (compared to gPXE) realtek driver with regards to how you embed it in your BIOS. I noticed you came online on IRC some days ago looking for answers. It might help if you try to wait a bit more than 6 minutes for a response before you leave the channel. |
|||
2013-04-30, 08:55
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-30 13:26 by Gelip.)
Post: #11
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
This is my COMPEX RE100ATX with Realtek chip:
- this card need exactly EPROM like logo this forum On the IRC channel received information: Quote:I think the problem is a hardware problem on one of your computers, and is not a problem with iPXEmaybe, I don't think. PC working good with gPXE 1.0.1. Someone explain to me how is that possible? |
|||
2013-04-30, 10:32
Post: #12
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
(2013-04-30 08:55)Maniek Wrote: After various iterations of testing, I'm going to conclude that this is a hardware problem. iPXE is known to work with this specific NIC on a different machine. The machine on which problems are observed: Quote:This is the configuration of the computer that not working DHCP iPXE: looks (from the mismatched DIMMs) to have been cobbled together from spare parts. The fact that the EEPROM ID word reads as 0x0129 rather than 0x8129 suggests that bit errors are occurring somewhere. A single bit error such as this would also explain the strange RX behaviour; if the CPU were to erroneously read RTL_CR as having bit 0 (RTL_CR_BUFE) clear then this would produce the exact behaviour shown in the trace. The older version of the Realtek driver present in gPXE uses port I/O rather than MMIO. It's entirely plausible that the hardware fault is affecting only MMIO. I'm going to conclude that this is a hardware fault unless there is very strong evidence to the contrary. Michael |
|||
2013-04-30, 10:44
Post: #13
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
(2013-04-30 10:32)mcb30 Wrote: [quote='Maniek' pid='9075' dateline='1367308528'] hymm.... in older version iPXE 1.0.0+ (d91cc) chip detect OK - look at this in my forum post: (2013-04-26 14:07)Maniek Wrote: OK, I build CONSOLE_SERIAL. This is log from serial console: |
|||
2013-04-30, 10:49
Post: #14
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
(2013-04-30 10:44)Maniek Wrote: Yes. Commit d90fc31 added a check for the EEPROM ID word; this check was not present in version d91cc. Michael |
|||
2013-04-30, 11:16
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-30 11:22 by Gelip.)
Post: #15
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
(2013-04-26 14:07)Maniek Wrote:Quote:This is the configuration of the computer that not working DHCP iPXE: The order of the modules in this PC is not accidental. This has been thoroughly tested and proven when placing the computer. I tested RAM's - each module in slot DIMM1: Only DIMM1 256MB - the same errors in iPXE Only DIMM2 128MB - the same errors in iPXE Only DIMM3 128MB - the same errors in iPXE I test also DIMM3 module in slot DIMM2 and the same errors iPXE :-( This is not problem with RAM modules. |
|||
2013-04-30, 11:24
Post: #16
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
(2013-04-30 11:16)Maniek Wrote: I tested RAM's - each module in slot DIMM1: I'm not claiming that the problem is necessarily in the RAM modules. The mismatched RAM modules lead me to suspect the overall build quality of the machine. The actual fault could be anywhere: CPU, motherboard, PCI slot, etc. Here are some things you could try if you want to isolate the problem:
Michael |
|||
2013-04-30, 12:08
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-01 09:42 by Gelip.)
Post: #17
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
Guys, I have good news !!! mcb30 make some patch's mdelay, iodelay and new readw. All patch's working but official commit readw
Link commitdiff: [realtek] Allow reaction time between writing RTL_CAPR and reading RTL_CR So I thought no matter what the media run iPXE. This is DEBUG=realtek (level 1) Code: REALTEK 0xbeea0 appears to be an RTL8139 P.S. To resolve problem display wrong message in DEBUG=realtek: Code: REALTEK 0xbeea0 EEPROM ID incorrect (0x0129); assuming no EEPROM Link commitdiff: [realtek] Ensure EEPROM writes reach chip before starting udelay() |
|||
2013-05-26, 18:48
Post: #18
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [renamed] DHCP timeout from Realtek 8139 card
Maniek: I think you mentioned in IRC a problem with closing and reopening an old (pre-C+) rtl8139 NIC. I was able to reproduce this, and it should now be fixed:
http://git.ipxe.org/ipxe.git/commitdiff/5d3d62d Michael |
|||
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
|
User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)