Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Could not patch WIM?
2017-10-11, 11:06
Post: #1
Could not patch WIM?
Hello, in attempt to load wim the file through ipxe gives an error message
could not patch WIM boot.wim
the WIM size 1,5 gb if it matters.

[Image: 1jpg_6183762_27846621.jpg]

kernel http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/wimboot pause gui
initrd http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/bootmgr.exe bootmgr.exe
initrd http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/boot/BCD BCD
initrd http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/boot/boot.sdi boot.sdi
initrd http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/boot/boot.wim boot.wim
imgstat || echo "ERROR at IMGSTAT"; sleep 3
prompt || echo "ERROR at PROMPT"; sleep 3
boot || echo "ERROR AT BOOT"; sleep 3;goto MENU


Help, please.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-11, 20:43
Post: #2
RE: Could not patch WIM?
(2017-10-11 11:06)chillywilly Wrote:  Hello, in attempt to load wim the file through ipxe gives an error message
could not patch WIM boot.wim
the WIM size 1,5 gb if it matters.

[Image: 1jpg_6183762_27846621.jpg]

kernel http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/wimboot pause gui
initrd http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/bootmgr.exe bootmgr.exe
initrd http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/boot/BCD BCD
initrd http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/boot/boot.sdi boot.sdi
initrd http://${fog-ip}/fog/service/ipxe/WinXP/boot/boot.wim boot.wim
imgstat || echo "ERROR at IMGSTAT"; sleep 3
prompt || echo "ERROR at PROMPT"; sleep 3
boot || echo "ERROR AT BOOT"; sleep 3;goto MENU

You should not need to specify bootmgr.exe - that should be extracted automatically from the boot.wim in any recent version of wimboot.

You also have some other files, such as
header (if I read the output correctly this file is 0 bytes, so not supported)
lookup.copy
lookup.boot
lookup.file

So your script don't seem to match your output, but one thing to try is to add imgfree before kernel in your script, so that any other files then the ones that you actually want are cleared away before wimboot goes into action.

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-04-17, 08:45
Post: #3
RE: Could not patch WIM?
Hi,

I'm getting the same problem here, done what was mentioned in the thread but still no got.

If someone could help, it will be appreciated.

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-04-17, 16:43 (This post was last modified: 2018-04-17 20:16 by NiKiZe.)
Post: #4
RE: Could not patch WIM?
(2018-04-17 08:45)jtvdw Wrote:  I'm getting the same problem here, done what was mentioned in the thread but still no got.

If someone could help, it will be appreciated.

Please start with the exact error you are getting, if you get "Resource to short" then post output of imgstat before starting wimboot, as well as running wimboot pause and post that output


After an image on the mailing list which describes the error, I might now be able to help with a workaround ...

The automatic patching of boot.wim as described in https://git.ipxe.org/wimboot.git/commitd...5ae01eeb23 fails

As a workaround you should be able to add "rawwim" to the wimboot cmdline, which should disable this patching.

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-04-18, 07:40
Post: #5
RE: Could not patch WIM?
Hi,

Apologies about this, I will attach a screenshot as well with the error I'm getting.

Its going through all the patching but stops at this:

Directory entry "PXE" not found.
Emulating Drive 0x81
FATAL: no bootmgr.exe
Press any key to reboot...

Image: http://www.armblanke.co.za/errors/pxe_boot.JPG

I'm pretty sure it's got something to do with creating the WinPESE ISO?

Please let me know.

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-04-18, 17:26
Post: #6
RE: Could not patch WIM?
"no embedded bootmgr.exe found"
"FATAL: no bootmgr.exe"
That is a totally different issue from what this original thread was about.

wimboot has nothing to do with creating any ISO, also you should not have any ISO at all when using wimboot, so I'm a bit confused about what you mean here.

If you find the correct "extracted" bootmgr.exe you can add that as an extra initrd line, however it is probably a better idea to figure out why the boot.wim seems to be incorrectly created and by what. I have read about this issue before (no bootmgr.exe where it is expected to be in the .wim), but that might have been on IRC so can't find relevant links for it.

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-04-19, 10:21
Post: #7
RE: Could not patch WIM?
Hi,

Apologies about that, but I did resolve the issues I experienced.

Thanks for the help, much appreciated.

Cheers
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-04-19, 19:07
Post: #8
RE: Could not patch WIM?
(2018-04-19 10:21)jtvdw Wrote:  Apologies about that, but I did resolve the issues I experienced.

Glad to hear that, what did you do to solve it? (Please help any future readers of this thread with perhaps the same issue, the worst thing to find on the web is threads describing the same issue as oneself has, with a "it works now" without any information about what fixed it)

I'm also still curious how you created your boot.wim file, which tool you used etc.

Thanks!

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)