Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
wimboot using grub2 on EFI
2017-12-25, 22:07
Post: #1
wimboot using grub2 on EFI
Hi,
I'm an happy user of wimboot from grub2 on my usb stick, I can start windows 10 setup, dart even with files withing an iso file.
Unfortunately I'm unable to make it work in efi:
  • load16 does not work (looks like it does not execute any code at all)
  • chainloading snponly.efi stops when I call boot with "no such device" (in efi_image.c)
  • chainloading wimboot will map each file at the root of the usb stick, the same result of chainloading bootmgr.efi, so I have no advantages over it
  • loadefi says wimboot has invalid signature

Right now I'm using qemu with OVMF

If you need additional info just let me known
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-12-28, 20:03
Post: #2
RE: wimboot using grub2 on EFI
I would to add that linuxefi is a patch of some linux distro, and I've also tested linux that instantly reboots
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-02-18, 22:26
Post: #3
RE: wimboot using grub2 on EFI
Up.
Same problem.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-03-27, 02:50 (This post was last modified: 2018-03-27 03:37 by sherpya.)
Post: #4
RE: wimboot using grub2 on EFI
unfortunately still nothing, but looks like the file: protocol is working:
Code:
iPXE> kernel file:/boot/wimboot
file:/boot/wimboot... ok
iPXE> initrd file:/dart/BCD
file:/dart/BCD... ok
iPXE> initrd file:/dart/boot.sdi
file:/dart/boot.sdi... ok
iPXE> initrd file:/dart/boot.wim
file:/dart/boot.wim... ok
iPXE> boot
Could not boot: No such device (http://ipxe.org/2c048087)
iPXE>

by skipping efi_pxe_install() and efi_image_path() call I was able to start wimboot executable
but then it fails:

Code:
wimboot v2.6.0 -- Windows Imaging Format bootloader -- http://ipxe.org/wimboot

Command line: "wimboot"
Could not open simple file system: 0x8000000000000002
Could not boot: Error 0x7f048281 (http://ipxe.org/7f048281)

I suppose it should be possible to setup needed structures for wimboot while skipping not applicable calls for snp protocol
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-03-28, 19:43
Post: #5
RE: wimboot using grub2 on EFI
[quote='sherpya' pid='20182' dateline='1522115419']
Code:
iPXE> boot
Could not boot: No such device (http://ipxe.org/2c048087)

That error page is updated with more info, make sure you have at least one open network interface for iPXE to bind to when you run boot


Sorry can't help with the actual issue of getting grub to directly boot wimboot. Might be better to ask those that support the development of grub for how to do the correct initrd and then chain to a efi binary

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-04-09, 02:06
Post: #6
RE: wimboot using grub2 on EFI
I've found a thread on reboot.pro forum, a guy found a way to make it works, but it's very strange:
http://reboot.pro/topic/21266-grub-uefi-.../?p=204066

I've tested it and it works, looks like you need to wait the second ctrl+b prompt, maybe after the first one ipxe opens the snp device
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-04-09, 05:55
Post: #7
RE: wimboot using grub2 on EFI
(2018-04-09 02:06)sherpya Wrote:  I've tested it and it works, looks like you need to wait the second ctrl+b prompt, maybe after the first one ipxe opens the snp device

That is one solution that works without understanding why ..

This is what I wrote:
Quote:make sure you have at least one open network interface for iPXE to bind to when you run boot

Now to explain why the other solution works ...

The "first" Ctrl-B is before autoboot have run, which means before ifopen/dhcp. If autoboot fails to find information for booting, such as tftp server and filename, then it will present you with the "second" Ctrl-B. And in that case ifopen has already run.

So to summarize:
* Enter shell and run ifopen for it to work in both cases (it still requires the presence of a NIC)
* If you have a DHCP server that gives out boot information there will not be a second Ctrl-B

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)