Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
chainload old Intel
2019-02-18, 13:51
Post: #1
chainload old Intel
Hello,


I have very old machine with intel nic

Code:
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82557/8/9/0/1 Ethernet Pro 100 [8086:1229] (rev 05)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation NC3161 Fast Ethernet NIC (embedded, WOL) [0e11:b0c6]
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 66, IRQ 11
        Memory at 42200000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
        I/O ports at 2000 [size=32]
        Memory at 42100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
        [virtual] Expansion ROM at 0c000000 [disabled] [size=1M]
        Capabilities: <access denied>
        Kernel driver in use: e100
after the start I get the message:
[Image: 20190218_134555.jpg]


Any advice?
Quote this message in a reply
2019-02-18, 20:15 (This post was last modified: 2019-02-18 21:38 by NiKiZe.)
Post: #2
RE: chainload old Intel
First, I'm sorry, I accidentally removed the user of this thread, after approving the post.
Please re-register and I will merge the accounts. again sorry. - ugh seems that's not possible Sad

What is the CPU in the machine? can it be that it hangs due to the need of TIVOLI_VMM_WORKAROUND ? (for example mentioned in recent: http://forum.ipxe.org/showthread.php?tid=17401)

If not then I would suspect the NICs undi driver, could you try intel.pxe or ipxe.pxe instead of undionly.kpxe?

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-02-19, 14:46 (This post was last modified: 2019-02-19 18:06 by PawelK.)
Post: #3
RE: chainload old Intel
(2019-02-18 20:15)NiKiZe Wrote:  First, I'm sorry, I accidentally removed the user of this thread, after approving the post.
Please re-register and I will merge the accounts. again sorry. - ugh seems that's not possible Sad

What is the CPU in the machine? can it be that it hangs due to the need of TIVOLI_VMM_WORKAROUND ? (for example mentioned in recent: http://forum.ipxe.org/showthread.php?tid=17401)

If not then I would suspect the NICs undi driver, could you try intel.pxe or ipxe.pxe instead of undionly.kpxe?
Code:
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 5
model name      : Pentium II (Deschutes)
stepping        : 2
microcode       : 0x2a
cpu MHz         : 397.961
cache size      : 512 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 1
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 1
apicid          : 0
initial apicid  : 0
fdiv_bug        : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pse36 mmx fxsr
bugs            :
bogomips        : 795.92
clflush size    : 32
cache_alignment : 32
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:


I delete TIVOLI_VMM_WORKAROUND from general.h and then
make clean
make

and it still does not work

I tried with intel.pxe and ipxe.pxe and it also does not work.

I tried with:
make bin/undionly.kkpxe EMBED=test.ipxe
Code:
#!ipxe
prompt --key 0x02 --timeout 2000 Press Ctrl-B for the iPXE command line... && shell ||

And I can enter the menu
When I use route I see the correct configuration, but when I use dhcp net0 the console freezes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-02-19, 22:24
Post: #4
RE: chainload old Intel
(2019-02-19 14:46)PawelK Wrote:  I delete TIVOLI_VMM_WORKAROUND from general.h and then
make clean
make

best practice is to edit src/config/local/general.h, and add
#undef TIVOLI_VMM_WORKAROUND
also you don't need make clean, unless your system time or fs time is wrong.

(2019-02-19 14:46)PawelK Wrote:  I tried with:
make bin/undionly.kkpxe EMBED=test.ipxe

Don't use undionly.kkpxe unless you have to and know why.
the basic one is undionly.kpxe
did you try intel.pxe or ipxe.pxe instead?

Also the Ctrl-B prompt is default without any embedded script.
Have you tried any of the prebuilt ones that you can find at boot.ipxe.org?

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-02-25, 12:18 (This post was last modified: 2019-02-25 12:18 by PawelK.)
Post: #5
RE: chainload old Intel
I tried undionly.kpxe
- self-built
- from http://boot.ipxe.org/undionly.kpxe
- unpacked from: ftp://ftp.pbone.net/mirror/archive.fedor...noarch.rpm

I also built intel.pxe ipxe.pxe and eepro100.pxe with and without TIVOLI_VMM_WORKAROUND

Nothing works.


I tried undionly.kpxe from ftp://ftp.pbone.net/mirror/archive.fedor...noarch.rpm
It does not detect the Ethernet interface.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-02-25, 22:35
Post: #6
RE: chainload old Intel
I guess that is a LOM (onboard) nic?
Try upgrading that BIOS, my guess is non compliant ROM (not fully following the undi spec)

One other thing to try is to checkout older commits, for example the 1.0.0 tag and see if that works, but might be hard to build.
I would make sure to use undionly.kpxe

Read the FAQ before posting.
Did you include relevant ipxe.org error urls?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-02-26, 11:06
Post: #7
RE: chainload old Intel
Yes, this is an onboard nic.

This is the old Compaq Deskpro EN SFF, no longer supported by HP and it is impossible to download the bios from their website.


As I wrote earlier, I tried undionly.kpxe from:
ipxe-bootimgs-20120328-1.gitaac9718.fc17.noarch.rpm
gpxe-bootimgs-0.9.7-4.fc10.noarch.rpm

with no effect.


It's a waste of time to continue to fight it.
with these computers I will be at syslinux and pxelinux.0
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)