Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
HP Service Pack for Proliant (Firmware)
2014-08-21, 18:19
Post: #1
HP Service Pack for Proliant (Firmware)
I've been trying to get HP Service Pack for Proliant (SPP)[/quote][/code][/php] running and have been having an issue. I have it booting up and the issue is possible trying to mount the drive from within the boot image.

The SPP is PXE bootable. There is a PXE section that I tried to setup to use with iPXE. http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softlib2/software1...eNotes.pdf

I created a boot.ipxe that is in the same folder as the extracted /system dir from the SPP ISO.

From the main menu, I'm just doing a chain to this boot.ipxe.

Boot.ipxe
Code:
#!ipxe
kernel http://${server}/hp_spp_2014_06/system/vmlinuz raid=nodetect
initrd http://${server}/hp_spp_2014_06/system/initrd.img

imgargs vmlinuz raid=nodetect media=net rw root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk_size= init=/bin/init loglevel=3 ide=nodma showopts ide=noraid nopat pnpbios=off vga=791 splash=verbose hp_fibre showopts noexec32=off numa=off nox2apic TYPE=MANUAL AUTOPOWEROFFONSUCCESS=no AUTOREBOOTONSUCCESS=yes iso1=smbfs://${server}/shared/hp_spp_2014_06/HP_Service_Pack_for_Proliant_2014.06.0_784915_001_spp_2014.06.0-SPP2014060.2014_0618.4.iso iso1mnt=/mnt/bootdevice

boot

Now it does boot into the HP image but it dies right after getting a DHCP address then trying to mount the filesystem.
Quote:Warning!!! Unable to mount the file system. Dropping to a shell

I'm not too sure but I'm guess it might be the iso1=smbfs:// line. The ISO is on that share and have verified outside of this that it is accessible.

Any have any experience with attempting to iPXE this HP SPP ISO?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-25, 11:32 (This post was last modified: 2014-08-25 11:33 by robinsmidsrod.)
Post: #2
RE: HP Service Pack for Proliant (Firmware)
I'm not sure if you can have kernel parameters both on the kernel and imgargs line (raid=nodetect). Considering you have such a long line of args I would suggest you remove it from the kernel line and see if that makes any difference.

You might also possibly be hitting a /proc/cmdline length issue. See if it helps to use a shorter path. And finally try increasing the debug/loglevel to see if you get any more info. Also, shouldn't ramdisk_size actually have a value? You have obviously checked that you can access the ISO with smbclient and anonymous permissions?

From what other info I can find in the PDF about the PXE support you seem to have converted the information correctly into an iPXE script.

If you still have problems I would suggest you try to post a log file or a screenshot/photo of the screen of the issue.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-28, 13:07
Post: #3
RE: HP Service Pack for Proliant (Firmware)
Hi,

the problem is within the SPP, not within iPXE. The SPP is missing some kernel modules which are needed for CIFS. NFS works.

If you need CIFS, you will have to add the missing modules

md5.ko
md4.ko
ecb.ko
des_generic.ko

to the initrd. Remember that the modules must match the kernel version from the SPP.

Or just take my patched version:

http://homepages.uni-paderborn.de/odenba...initrd.img

(works with SPP 2014-06-0)

Regards,

Christopher
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2016-05-13, 08:51
Post: #4
RE: HP Service Pack for Proliant (Firmware)
(2014-08-28 13:07)odenbach Wrote:  Hi,

the problem is within the SPP, not within iPXE. The SPP is missing some kernel modules which are needed for CIFS. NFS works.

If you need CIFS, you will have to add the missing modules

md5.ko
md4.ko
ecb.ko
des_generic.ko

to the initrd. Remember that the modules must match the kernel version from the SPP.

Or just take my patched version:

http://homepages.uni-paderborn.de/odenba...initrd.img

(works with SPP 2014-06-0)

Regards,

Christopher

Hi

I am in the same situation but trying to boot the ISO over http

I have tried:
:HP
kernel ${base-url}/mirrors/hp-boot/vmlinuz
initrd ${base-url}/mirrors/hp-boot/initrd.img media=network rw root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk_size=808296 init=/bin/init loglevel=3 ide=nodma ide=noraid nopat pnpbios=off vga=791 splash=silent hp_fibre showopts noexec32=off numa=off nox2apic TYPE=AUTOMATIC AUTOPOWEROFFONSUCCESS=no AUTOREBOOTONSUCCESS=no iso1=${base-url}/mirrors/hp-boot/SPP2016040.2016_0317.20.iso iso1mnt=/mnt/bootdevice
boot

and

:HP
sanboot ${base-url}/mirrors/hp-boot/SPP2016040.2016_0317.20.iso
boot

These both don't work.

has anyone managed to get the HP Service pack to work with ipxe and over http?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2016-05-30, 09:24
Post: #5
RE: HP Service Pack for Proliant (Firmware)
(2016-05-13 08:51)markyang Wrote:  has anyone managed to get the HP Service pack to work with ipxe and over http?

Yes, but with an alternate approach, and HP will break things every other release for no reason.

We PXE boot the HP STK 10.20 (DHCP is broken in 10.30 and 10.40) with the following
ipxe config:

Code:
:hp_firmware
initrd ${boot-url}/firmware/HP/STK/initrd.img
kernel ${boot-url}/firmware/HP/STK/vmlinuz
imgargs vmlinuz initrd=initrd.img root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=785116 ide=nodma ide=noraid pnpbios=off network=1 sstk_conf=toolkit.conf sstk_script=/sbp/deploy.sh sstk_tgz={{ .bootserver_inet_url }}/firmware/HP/STK/toolkit.tgz spp_tgz={{ .bootserver_inet_url }}/firmware/HP/SPP/{{ .hp_spp_tarball }} spp_version={{ .hp_spp_version }}
boot

And in the toolkit.tgz there is a script which applies the SPP listed in /proc/cmdline.

Code:
# perform updates
${TMPDIR} ${BASEDIR}/SPP/hpsum --silent \
    --veryv --express_install --romonly --ignore_warnings \
    --bundle $(basename ${TMPDIR}/${BASEDIR}/SPP/bp*xml)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2016-05-30, 17:33 (This post was last modified: 2016-05-30 17:37 by MultimediaMan.)
Post: #6
RE: HP Service Pack for Proliant (Firmware)
Just use the NFS Mount version with NFS Boot: NFS booting works very well.

Here's a bit of code starting the boot using HTTP and concluding with NFS Mounts...

Code:
#!ipxe
#3rd. Stratum Script
#loc. ${17}/NetBoot/iPXE/ipxelinux.cfg/OEM/HP/SPP/firmware2013020.ipxe

set 03_webpath ${17}/Media-Depot/other/tools/HP/2013-02/SPP/pxe/spp2013020
set 03_nfspath nfs://nfs-repo.global.glb.midgard.net/nfs/ro/pub/tools/HP/2013-02/SPP
set 03_isofile HP_Service_Pack_for_Proliant_2013.02.0-0_725490-001_spp_2013.02.0-SPP2013020.2013_0204.107.iso

set arg0 initrd=initrd.img ; set arg1 media=net ; set arg2 ro ; set arg3 root=/dev/ram0 ; set arg4 ramdisk_size=131072 ; set arg5 init=/bin/init ; set arg6 loglevel=3 ; set arg7 ide=nodma ; set arg8 ide=noraid
set arg9 nopat ; set arga pnpbios=off ; set argb vga=791 ; set argc splash=silent ; set argd hp_fibre ; set arge showopts ; set argf noexec32=off ; set argg numa=off ; set argh nox2apic ;
set argi TYPE=AUTOMATIC ; set argj AUTOPOWEROFFONSUCCESS=no ; set argk AUTOREBOOTONSUCCESS=yes ; set argl iso1=${03_nfspath}/iso/${03_isofile} ; set argm iso1mnt=/mnt/bootdevice

echo initrd ${03_webpath}/initrd.img
sleep 2
initrd ${03_webpath}/initrd.img ||

echo chain ${03_webpath}/vmlinuz ${arg0} ${arg1} ${arg2} ${arg3} ${arg4} ${arg5} ${arg6} ${arg7} ${arg8} ${arg9} ${arga} ${argb} ${argc} ${argd} ${arge} ${argf} ${argg} ${argh} ${argi} ${argj} ${argk} ${argl} ${argm}
sleep 2
chain ${03_webpath}/vmlinuz ${arg0} ${arg1} ${arg2} ${arg3} ${arg4} ${arg5} ${arg6} ${arg7} ${arg8} ${arg9} ${arga} ${argb} ${argc} ${argd} ${arge} ${argf} ${argg} ${argh} ${argi} ${argj} ${argk} ${argl} ${argm} ||

:03_end exit

"Thus far, you have been adrift within the sheltered harbor of my patience..."
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)