iPXE discussion forum
iPXE initializing devices - takes 30 seconds - Printable Version

+- iPXE discussion forum (https://forum.ipxe.org)
+-- Forum: iPXE user forums (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: General (/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: iPXE initializing devices - takes 30 seconds (/showthread.php?tid=31540)

iPXE initializing devices - takes 30 seconds - frr - 2020-10-01 20:31

Dear everybody,

I've been using iPXE for a couple months to PXE-boot various UEFI-only PC's in the LAN in our HW service workshop. iPXE is pretty cool for that job.

There's a quirk that I've been watching for some time: on most motherboards that managed to boot, the boot process would stall at "iPXE initializing devices" for about half a minute. Today I've found some time to take a dive under the hood, and owing to iPXE's excellent debugging capabilities, I've been able to narrow down the problem to the following place:

in file src/crypto/drbg.c, in function drbg_instantiate(), there's a call to get_entropy_input() - and it's this call that takes 25+ seconds to return.

This can be further traced to src/include/ipxe/entropy.h , which is a header file, defining the inline function get_entropy_input(). And I haven't inspected all the guts yet, but chances are, that this ultimately calls a function called get_entropy_input_tmp() , defined in src/crypto/entropy.c .

The point of this whole show appears to be: to seed a random number generator with enough initial entropy. And for some reason, it takes a hideous amount of time.

I'm wondering how many people who complain about the boot process freezing at "iPXE initializing devices" are just not patient enough to wait 30 seconds to see if the machine finally boots. And the last message on the screen, without debugging compiled in, appears to refer to "devices" = you would understand that this refers to "network" devices, you'd scorn the NIC on your motherboard etc.

That 30-second pause is a disgrace.