iPXE discussion forum
Refreshing an iPXE Web Menu... - Printable Version

+- iPXE discussion forum (https://forum.ipxe.org)
+-- Forum: iPXE user forums (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: General (/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Refreshing an iPXE Web Menu... (/showthread.php?tid=6944)



Refreshing an iPXE Web Menu... - MultimediaMan - 2013-06-07 04:51

Modern servers with lots of RAM can take a long time to boot.

Debugging iPXE scripts on real metal is a fact of life as part of testing. So what to do for this?

This little trick will save you some time if you have a static script that you are working on, with a running iPXE client accessing it.

Assumption:

Your script is named default.ipxe

In the menu place a selection like so...

Code:
item refresh_me        Refresh Menu

:refresh_me

chain -ar ${17}/NetBoot/iPXE/default/default.ipxe



RE: Refreshing an iPXE Web Menu... - mcb30 - 2013-06-07 13:17

(2013-06-07 04:51)MultimediaMan Wrote:  In the menu place a selection like so...

Code:
item refresh_me        Refresh Menu

:refresh_me
chain ${17}/NetBoot/iPXE/default/default.ipxe

That's a nice development technique.

I would suggest two minor changes:
  • use the undocumented "chain -ar" option (--autofree and --replace); this will prevent iPXE from running out of memory after several iterations
  • omit the path and use just "chain -ar default.ipxe"; non-absolute paths are automatically treated as being relative to the current script URI anyway.

Michael


RE: Refreshing an iPXE Web Menu... - MultimediaMan - 2013-06-07 14:17

(2013-06-07 13:17)mcb30 Wrote:  
(2013-06-07 04:51)MultimediaMan Wrote:  In the menu place a selection like so...

Code:
item refresh_me        Refresh Menu

:refresh_me
chain ${17}/NetBoot/iPXE/default/default.ipxe

That's a nice development technique.

I would suggest two minor changes:
  • use the undocumented "chain -ar" option (--autofree and --replace); this will prevent iPXE from running out of memory after several iterations
  • omit the path and use just "chain -ar default.ipxe"; non-absolute paths are automatically treated as being relative to the current script URI anyway.

Michael

And done. Thanks, Michael!


RE: Refreshing an iPXE Web Menu... - ArneLovius - 2013-06-11 15:39

(2013-06-07 13:17)mcb30 Wrote:  use the undocumented "chain -ar" option (--autofree and --replace); this will prevent iPXE from running out of memory after several iterations

woo hoo !!

I'd forgotten about having exactly that problem when I was struggling with the default gateway