iseq on a string with a space?? - Printable Version +- iPXE discussion forum (https://forum.ipxe.org) +-- Forum: iPXE user forums (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1) +--- Forum: General (/forumdisplay.php?fid=2) +--- Thread: iseq on a string with a space?? (/showthread.php?tid=7960) |
iseq on a string with a space?? - robzr - 2016-02-11 21:15 On a Dell server, the ${manufacturer} variable is "Dell Inc.". I cannot figure out a way to do an iseq on this variable, I tried: iseq ${manufacturer} Dell${}Inc. But it always evaluates false. Using anything with a space, 'Dell Inc.', "Dell Inc.", Dell\ Inc., etc, always results in syntax error since it is parsed as two arguments. Any recommendations? Rob RE: iseq on a string with a space?? - NiKiZe - 2016-02-11 21:28 (2016-02-11 21:15)robzr Wrote: On a Dell server, the ${manufacturer} variable is "Dell Inc.". I cannot figure out a way to do an iseq on this variable, I tried: To create a variable that contains a space run Code: set sp:hex 20 && set sp ${sp:string} Now you can run Code: iseq ${manufacturer} Dell${sp}Inc. If it does not work, what is the output of echo ${manufacturer:hexhyp} ? RE: iseq on a string with a space?? - robzr - 2016-02-11 22:01 (2016-02-11 21:28)NiKiZe Wrote:(2016-02-11 21:15)robzr Wrote: On a Dell server, the ${manufacturer} variable is "Dell Inc.". I cannot figure out a way to do an iseq on this variable, I tried: That worked - thanks! I'm surprised the parser doesn't support at least a backslash escape at the least, must be a very lightweight routine. Rob RE: iseq on a string with a space?? - NiKiZe - 2016-02-11 22:05 (2016-02-11 22:01)robzr Wrote: I'm surprised the parser doesn't support at least a backslash escape at the least, must be a very lightweight routine. Implementing support for that would indeed be good, but since that would be a general part of the scripting the question is how many already existing scripts it would break for. |