Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
2019-12-12, 08:31 (This post was last modified: 2019-12-12 20:33 by vpnchoudhary.)
Post: #1
chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
Hi - I am using chainloading to load ipxe. Which seems to load fine but then trying to get the ipxe script fails.

the error i am getting are:
net0: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx using undionly on 0000:05:00.0 (open)
[link:up, Tx:0, TXE:1, RX:0 RXE:0 ]
TXE: 1 x "Network Unreachable (http://ipxe.org/28086011)"
Configuring (net0 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx.xx).... operation canceled (http://ipxe.org/0b0720a0)

Here is the screen shot of the error message.
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnspKd67W4R2ghoy8Pvu8U3wDTET

the undionly.kpxe is downloaded from http://boot.ipxe.org/undionly.kpxe
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-12, 18:41
Post: #2
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
Screenshot not available.

If you press ctrl+b and then type dhcp, does that fail as well?, with what error?

We are seeing TXE:1 in the message, however not what iPXE tried to do when it happened.
And http://ipxe.org/28086011 points us towards it being that no interface was open.

Did you maybe use ctrl+b and then tried to chain immediately, without first running dhcp or other ifopen command?

Read FAQ before first post!
Are relevant ipxe.org error urls and PCIIDs included?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-12, 21:01
Post: #3
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
(2019-12-12 18:41)NiKiZe Wrote:  Screenshot not available.

If you press ctrl+b and then type dhcp, does that fail as well?, with what error?

We are seeing TXE:1 in the message, however not what iPXE tried to do when it happened.
And http://ipxe.org/28086011 points us towards it being that no interface was open.

Did you maybe use ctrl+b and then tried to chain immediately, without first running dhcp or other ifopen command?

Sorry about the wrong link. Corrected the screenshot link.
My pxe server sends path to undionly.kpxe when host sends the first pxe/Discovery request. Which hosts seems to download fine and put the undionly stack on nic.
Host then sends another pxe/discovery request (this time with userclass = "iPXE") in return my pxe server sends an ipxe script:

#!ipxe

cpuid --ext 29 && set arch x64 || set arch x86
kernel wimboot
initrd ${arch}/images/bcd BCD
initrd boot.sdi boot.sdi
initrd ${arch}/images/mywinpeimage.wim boot.wim
boot

At this point host fails but I don't if failed to download the ipxe script or failed to process it.
It seems that when undionly.kpxe loads then networking stack does not work.


Host has mallnox connect x3 network card. It does have ipxe but I am trying to test if undionly.kpxe could be our solution to cover both legacy and newer network cards.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-12, 21:14 (This post was last modified: 2019-12-12 21:16 by NiKiZe.)
Post: #4
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
(2019-12-12 21:01)vpnchoudhary Wrote:  Sorry about the wrong link. Corrected the screenshot link.
My pxe server sends path to undionly.kpxe when host sends the first pxe/Discovery request. Which hosts seems to download fine and put the undionly stack on nic.
Host then sends another pxe/discovery request (this time with userclass = "iPXE") in return my pxe server sends an ipxe script:
Are you sure about that? Because iPXE reports no successful sent or received packages at all. Hmm that might be before open tho, sorry if so.

Some minor corrections here, undionly is loaded into memory, no script is sent by dhcp, only a path to it.

(2019-12-12 21:01)vpnchoudhary Wrote:  
Code:
#!ipxe

cpuid --ext 29 && set arch x64 || set arch x86
kernel wimboot
initrd ${arch}/images/bcd    BCD
initrd boot.sdi    boot.sdi
initrd ${arch}/images/mywinpeimage.wim    boot.wim
boot

At this point host fails but I don't if failed to download the ipxe script or failed to process it.
It seems that when undionly.kpxe loads then networking stack does not work.

Mac address is not private, at least please don't cross out the first 3 octets since that is useful to identify nic vendor. Just in case something is wrong there...

I will again suggest that you use ctrl+b and run dhcp manually
Follow that with ifstat and check if you have any packages sent.

You can then follow that with config, and check that you have proper filename (and maybe next-server as well if filename don't include protocol)

How long does it take between "Configuring (net0" and "operation canceled (http://ipxe.org/0b0720a0)" messages?

Read FAQ before first post!
Are relevant ipxe.org error urls and PCIIDs included?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-12, 21:18
Post: #5
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
(2019-12-12 21:01)vpnchoudhary Wrote:  
(2019-12-12 18:41)NiKiZe Wrote:  Screenshot not available.

If you press ctrl+b and then type dhcp, does that fail as well?, with what error?

We are seeing TXE:1 in the message, however not what iPXE tried to do when it happened.
And http://ipxe.org/28086011 points us towards it being that no interface was open.

Did you maybe use ctrl+b and then tried to chain immediately, without first running dhcp or other ifopen command?

Sorry about the wrong link. Corrected the screenshot link.
My pxe server sends path to undionly.kpxe when host sends the first pxe/Discovery request. Which hosts seems to download fine and put the undionly stack on nic.
Host then sends another pxe/discovery request (this time with userclass = "iPXE") in return my pxe server sends an ipxe script:

#!ipxe

cpuid --ext 29 && set arch x64 || set arch x86
kernel wimboot
initrd ${arch}/images/bcd BCD
initrd boot.sdi boot.sdi
initrd ${arch}/images/mywinpeimage.wim boot.wim
boot

At this point host fails but I don't if failed to download the ipxe script or failed to process it.
It seems that when undionly.kpxe loads then networking stack does not work.


Host has mallnox connect x3 network card. It does have ipxe but I am trying to test if undionly.kpxe could be our solution to cover both legacy and newer network cards.

I think the problem is that I have separate dhcp and pxe servers. So when it boots into undionly.kpxe then my dhcp sever responds to Discovery request along with pxe server. But since my dhcp server does not contains bootfilename the host receives it first and thinks no bootimage path is specified.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-12, 21:19
Post: #6
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
I will again suggest that you use ctrl+b and run dhcp manually
Follow that with ifstat and check if you have any packages sent.

You can then follow that with config, and check that you have proper filename (and maybe next-server as well if filename don't include protocol)

Read FAQ before first post!
Are relevant ipxe.org error urls and PCIIDs included?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-13, 07:17
Post: #7
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
(2019-12-12 21:19)NiKiZe Wrote:  I will again suggest that you use ctrl+b and run dhcp manually
Follow that with ifstat and check if you have any packages sent.

You can then follow that with config, and check that you have proper filename (and maybe next-server as well if filename don't include protocol)

Seems like once undionly is loaded into memory the network stack stop working. dhcp command was working before loading undionly but it stop working after loading undionly. Refer the screenshot. Used ctrl + b to break into shell cmd and then manually chainloaded undionly. https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnspKd67W4R2ghtQ0ytgIZYMGcNZ
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-13, 18:26
Post: #8
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
(2019-12-13 07:17)vpnchoudhary Wrote:  
(2019-12-12 21:19)NiKiZe Wrote:  I will again suggest that you use ctrl+b and run dhcp manually
Follow that with ifstat and check if you have any packages sent.

You can then follow that with config, and check that you have proper filename (and maybe next-server as well if filename don't include protocol)

Seems like once undionly is loaded into memory the network stack stop working. dhcp command was working before loading undionly but it stop working after loading undionly. Refer the screenshot. Used ctrl + b to break into shell cmd and then manually chainloaded undionly. https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnspKd67W4R2ghtQ0ytgIZYMGcNZ

Some info from image:
ctrl+b are pressed after getting "Nothing to boot: No such file or directory (http://ipxe.org/2d03e13b)
No more network devices"

this is followed by:
Code:
iPXE> boot http://xxx.xx.146.175/boot/xxxxx-dev02i.xxxxxx1.ipxe
http://xxx.xx.146.175/boot/xxxxx-dev02i.xxxx.1.ipxe... Network unreachable (http://ipxe.org/280a6011)
iPXE> dhcp
iPXE>

Please note that I asked you (several times) to run ifstat,
and also run config. (Is there any particular reason that you are thinking that these commands are unnecessary and won't give you any information? Or why are you not running these!?)

You should also read the error urls that are shown here.
http://ipxe.org/2d03e13b This clearly tells you that your dhcp server config is incorrect, which you also suggested, well that is fine but autoboot won't be able to run your setup, so you have to ctrl-b, dhcp, chain.

http://ipxe.org/280a6011 Is because you don't have any route that works for the xxx.xx.146.175 ip

Running config would tell you what is configured.

but again run ifstat, to make sure that you get both working TX and RX packets.

Looking at this image i see nothing that suggests that there is something wrong, other than some incorrect configurations. But then again, it is missing vital information to be sure (ifstat output)

Read FAQ before first post!
Are relevant ipxe.org error urls and PCIIDs included?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-16, 04:45
Post: #9
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
(2019-12-13 18:26)NiKiZe Wrote:  
(2019-12-13 07:17)vpnchoudhary Wrote:  
(2019-12-12 21:19)NiKiZe Wrote:  I will again suggest that you use ctrl+b and run dhcp manually
Follow that with ifstat and check if you have any packages sent.

You can then follow that with config, and check that you have proper filename (and maybe next-server as well if filename don't include protocol)

Seems like once undionly is loaded into memory the network stack stop working. dhcp command was working before loading undionly but it stop working after loading undionly. Refer the screenshot. Used ctrl + b to break into shell cmd and then manually chainloaded undionly. https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnspKd67W4R2ghtQ0ytgIZYMGcNZ

Some info from image:
ctrl+b are pressed after getting "Nothing to boot: No such file or directory (http://ipxe.org/2d03e13b)
No more network devices"

this is followed by:
Code:
iPXE> boot http://xxx.xx.146.175/boot/xxxxx-dev02i.xxxxxx1.ipxe
http://xxx.xx.146.175/boot/xxxxx-dev02i.xxxx.1.ipxe... Network unreachable (http://ipxe.org/280a6011)
iPXE> dhcp
iPXE>

Please note that I asked you (several times) to run ifstat,
and also run config. (Is there any particular reason that you are thinking that these commands are unnecessary and won't give you any information? Or why are you not running these!?)

You should also read the error urls that are shown here.
http://ipxe.org/2d03e13b This clearly tells you that your dhcp server config is incorrect, which you also suggested, well that is fine but autoboot won't be able to run your setup, so you have to ctrl-b, dhcp, chain.

http://ipxe.org/280a6011 Is because you don't have any route that works for the xxx.xx.146.175 ip

Running config would tell you what is configured.

but again run ifstat, to make sure that you get both working TX and RX packets.

Looking at this image i see nothing that suggests that there is something wrong, other than some incorrect configurations. But then again, it is missing vital information to be sure (ifstat output)

I did executed commands ifstat, route and config. but similar to dhcp I see no result from those commands.
Before applying undionly driver these commands worked fine but after loading undionly I didn't get any result from these command.
On this machine, ipxe is already enabled so when I reboot into pxe mode, I can break into ipxe and execute those commands. But these is my test machine and I am using it to test chainloading so that I can apply this solution to all of my machines irrespective whether they support ipxe or not.
Do you still think its dhcp config ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2019-12-16, 08:32
Post: #10
RE: chainloading (undionly.kpxe) ipxe is failing.
(2019-12-16 04:45)vpnchoudhary Wrote:  I did executed commands ifstat, route and config. but similar to dhcp I see no result from those commands.

No result from ifstat, means that there is no nic, while the images clearly shows that you have a nic. config would show you the menu.
and if any of those fails, then you would get an error.

You will get output in one way or other.

Read FAQ before first post!
Are relevant ipxe.org error urls and PCIIDs included?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)