Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
iPXE keeping state
2013-05-16, 00:47
iPXE keeping state
I'm very new at iPXE so please bear with me if this question is silly. I have a machine where the BIOS boot order is set to network,HDD. I'm using iPXE to boot and install an OS but at the end of the installation, the OS requires a restart. When it comes back up, it again gets into iPXE and launches a reinstall, hence an infinite loop. Is there a way to have iPXE keep state, say a counter so the second request will boot the hard drive instead of the .ipxe script that loads the installer? There is no interaction in the system.

Thanks in advance!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2013-05-16, 13:16
RE: iPXE keeping state
If you want all this to happen without user intervention, then the only way is to use some form of server-side method to keep state. iPXE itself isn't capable of storing any state (unless you have one of those very rare network cards that can store information in NVRAM). If you use my menu example, https://gist.github.com/robinsmidsrod/2234639, you can create a script in the bootstrap/ folder after the hostname, uuid or mac of the machine in question. Since the default in that menu is to exit and perform a local boot, you only need create that override script whenever you need to install the machine, and when you're done with that, you can remove that file again.

If you don't need fully automated, then you can just use the menu more-or-less as-is and just choose the install option in the menu when required, and it will by default just exit and start the OS. At home I have all machines setup to boot from network by default, and for most of them I just fall-through and boot local after 5 seconds. It does make the boot a little slower, but it's not a big problem (for me).