Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need some help NFS booting a mounted Ubuntu 16.04 mini.iso (both UEFI and BIOS)
2016-05-23, 21:43
Need some help NFS booting a mounted Ubuntu 16.04 mini.iso (both UEFI and BIOS)
Hey there,

I'm completely new to network booting/iPXE, etc., and I'm having some problems getting a network boot setup working. I'm hoping somebody here can help.

Here's a quick overview of my setup:

1. I have configured a DHCP server to instruct chainloading of either ipxe.efi or undionly.kpxe depending on whether or not the boot client is UEFI or BIOS

2. The DHCP server sends the client to a TFTP server running on a QNAP TurboNAS to serve up the correct file

3. The same QNAP TurboNAS has the mini.iso for Ubuntu 16.04 mounted with read-only guest permissions and available via NFS

4. I have built iPXE w/ DOWNLOAD_PROTO_NFS enabled

Up to here is where things seem to fall apart; I Ctrl+B in to the command line to start playing with stuff but I can't seem to get the kernel to load.

I know that NFS is working, because I can get to files such as the initrd without issue:

Code:
dhcp
initrd nfs://guest@<server ip>/Ubuntu1604Mini/initrd.gz

Works just fine. But when I try to get the kernel to load, I get Exec format error. From cursory Googling I'm going to assume that the kernel image doesn't have the EFI stub compiled properly but I'm not totally sure. I have tried several different commands:

Code:
kernel nfs://guest@<server ip>/Ubuntu1604Mini/linux #doesn't work
kernel nfs://guest@<server ip>/Ubuntu1604Mini/linux initrd=initrd.gz #doesn't work
kernel nfs://guest@<server ip>/Ubuntu1604Mini/linux root=/dev/nfs nfsroot=guest@<server ip>:/Ubuntu1604Mini initrd=initrd.gz #doesn't work
kernel nfs://guest@<server ip>/Ubuntu1604Mini/linux root=/dev/nfs netboot=nfs nfsroot=guest@<server ip>:/Ubuntu1604Mini initrd=initrd.gz #doesn't work